Tell Me About This Picture

Historic photographs are such an inspiration for me. I rely on them while writing historical fiction in order to get a sense of the time and the details of daily life. There is something else too. There is a story within each pictures, all it’s own. I can feel the story when I study the photograph. I thought it would be fun to share this process here on my blog.

So…when you look at this 1940s picture what do you see? Write a short description in the comments about what you think is going on. (In return I’ll send you an  kindle copy of my novel Exuberance Is Beauty. Exuberance is Beauty has had over 50,000 reads and is a Featured Story on wattpad (selected from hundreds of thousands of books). It has a 5 star average on Amazon.)

OK Here is the inspiration picture–what do you think is going on in this photograph?

shopping

 



screen-shot-2016-10-28-at-9-51-56-pm

Oregon, 1940s: Eve Miller, a young war widow, rebels against the ordinariness of womanhood in the post-war era. Eve is enlightened as she succumbs to the sensual temptation of an adulterous affair. In its aftermath, Eve Miller’s life unravels and leads to unexpected violence and moral isolation. Exuberance Is Beauty, is a contemporary interpretation of Adam and Eve’s biblical allegory and Eve’s fall into desolation. The story examines the consequence of erotic obsession and the repentance the female protagonist must pay for her sins of the flesh.

From Amazon Reviews

“This story is intense! The time period is 1940s and the setting is Oregon. The main character, Eve, is whisked away to the middle of nowhere to have her illegitimate baby by a married man who seduced her. When he finds out about the child, he starts terrorizing her.

“This is a socially important and poignant tale of a war widows seduction…”

“A book with great insight into the human psyche of the time…”

Exuberance is Beauty is a women’s fictional novel set in the mid 1940’s and explores society’s treatment of women within that era.…it is a gripping read.”

 

 

3 comments

  1. The photo is chocked full of stories. The expressions on the 3 key figures are rich with non-verbal exuberance. The little girls face has wonder written on it as she hustles to keep up with the two adults. They are walking with brisk enthusiasm after having made some great selections at their favorite shop. Even though the times were fraught with difficulty they are not letting it get to them.

    Like

    1. I think it’s full of stories too. they all do look happy and I wonder if the two women are sisters and the little girl one of their daughters. I also love that they are passing a shoe repair store, a delicatessen, and some sort of small clothing store. I bought these in Porltand Oregon and I was hoping to see the name of a business in the picture to see if it was here in Oregon. I agree that the times do not seem to be getting to them. I wonder if she used rations for that bag of groceries. Thanks for your thoughts, they got me thinking and looking more closely at the moment captured in the picture. –email me if you’d like for me to send a kindle version of my historical novel (set in 1940s oregon, Exuberance Is Beauty). You can get in touch with me at rosegluckwriter@gmail.com. Thanks again!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

